Interior Designer…going ROGUE!

Interior Design…I have a LOVE-hate standpoint with it!  First lets take the actual title of the role…Interior Designer!  I feel that even the title alone brings on air’s of en-“title”-ment.  Bad pun I know but intended and purposeful.  Yes, I LOVE creating…I mean I truly LOVE creating!  I LOVE…when others invite me in to their space and ask me “how can you help me make this better?”

Interior Design

The joy of creating and seeing your vision going 3D is amazing.   The most powerful weapon that a Designer has is his or her knowing!  That absolute confidence that the choice we make was the correct one.  So many have an inability to make quick and decisive choices…and feel completely overwhelmed by all of the different avenues that can even be possible…those are the one’s that need an ID.

I understand that every career has it’s pluses and minus’s…but sometimes I feel that ID’s get a little extra torture.  Sometimes I just feel that this particular career direction is not take serious…so superfluous too many.

Interior Designer…for myself I prefer Interior Stylist.  Why do I prefer this name because it is more relaxed and to me conjures the desire to “style” a room.  To create a feeling or presence within that room.  Not just creating a sofa and chair and then placing it in the proper place with it’s fabrics to match the artwork (so GGGrrrr Animals) or what I like to call “housewife chic”.

My other favorite design direction is going into a home and it looks like that they have had the same furniture since college.  Seeming as though they’re just warehousing stuff…and then asking me to re-do the room for about $3000.00   This little number I call…a LOP-“lipstick on a pig”.

This now brings me to taste…yes this is why you select an ID…some are good, some are better, while some…well they’re there to make the good one’s look even better.

But back to the point of this article…my top 10 reasons Interior Designer’s take too much SHIT!

1. Our client’s that think they can do it better…but just don’t have time.  But then have time to call 5 times a day asking 10 questions.

2.”I can find it cheaper on the internet…great then you should buy it.”

3.”You know I design my house, my friend’s house, my neighbor’s house…oh and my cousin’s house.”

4.”I need the whole house done…and my budget is $5000.00.”

5. There’re many alpha women that hate to have another alpha woman tell them how they think their room should look.  But if a male designer created that very same room then it is even more fabulous…go figure.

6.When the client just placed the order and a couple of day’s go and by…they call and ask when is it going to be ready?

7.Designing up a space…but then you never hear from the client again…only to run into them some time later…and they so show you their space…and it is exactly how you designed it…but they got it somewhere else!  Thanks!

8.Working with a sub-contractor?  My top favorite in this arena is…”I never got that…no you never said that…or that’s what you said you wanted”.  Everyone needs to cover their asses at another’s expense.

9.Ordering a custom piece of furniture…then bringing it home a week later and wanting to return it-when they approved the sale to begin with.

10.Or my other favorite aspect…”this is made so poorly”…when they refuse to pay more than a couple hundred dollars for a piece of furniture. Really?

So what is my answer:  I prefer to go back to my original vision and how a made a living for years and that is not being responsible for selecting the furniture (at least that is what I prefer).  But instead taking what they currently have and make it the best it can be…in other words “setting the style” for the room.

Even though as an interior designer their responsibility is to create the basic look…and yes it is beautiful.  The pictures are taken as though not a soul lives there…everything in it’s place.  But…I want a home to have a soul’s presence…I feel that when you walk into a room you should be captivated by the collection of items and how they’re placed.  Versus how pretty the drapes match the artwork!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

